The Power of the Pause: A Note on Anticipating Burnout

When was the last time you truly paused?

Good morning friends,

I have to be honest with you. I've been working very hard these last few months, and I *thought* I was taking enough time for self-care and self-preservation with my AOC formula, but even then, I feel like I need to adjust my expectations.

This time of year, I always encounter the inevitable overwhelm; as the school year draws to a close, my piano students are winding down lessons, and I transition to a summer schedule (or, more accurately, a lack of schedule.) This year is even more demanding as I have a part-time job as a social media manager on top of everything else I do as an entrepreneur!

Around this time, in the early summer of 2021, I realized I desperately needed help with my mental health. I was running on fumes. Little did I know then that I was suffering from neurodivergent burnout, which had reared its ugly head, throwing me completely off balance.

As I approach this upcoming summer season, I feel similar to that summer of 2021, except I now know and realize that neurodivergent burnout is on the horizon. So what will I be doing differently now than I did then?

Pause, and assess what I've been through and where I'd like to be.
Pause, and breathe.
Pause, and reflect on the necessary adjustments to make restorative changes in my daily life.
Pause, and consciously choose to pare down my commitments.
Pause, and practice gratitude.

The recurring theme here, as you can see, is to pause. There is power in the pause, as it gives our brains, bodies, and spirits the chance to take in our current situations and surroundings without the anxious pressure of modern life.

Watch this TED talk from Nancy Scannell for a good understanding of the Power of the Pause.

This final newsletter for Mental Health Awareness Month is generously brought to you by the good people at Llama Life, whose intuitive task manager has already made the difference in so many people's lives! I personally launch my Llama Life every work morning, and it takes distraction out of the equation so I can get more things done. Start your free trial here, and sign up for a year for only $30!

Next week, it will be a lean newsletter, with an opportunity to complete a three question survey so I can gain some insight on your thoughts!

Thank you so much for being a subscriber here on the Accountable Otters Club. I appreciate you all more than you'll ever know.

Warmly,

Izzie

P.S. Know someone who would enjoy our newsletter? Forward them this one with a note telling them why you think they'd benefit from it! Also, follow us on Instagram!

Join the conversation

or to participate.