Special Interests as Self-Care? 🤩 Absolutely!

Why engaging in our special interests can provide comfort and escape.

Hi friends,

We are halfway through September, and I can feel the shift in my daily life from the chaos of returning to school to a more predictable routine and schedule. One thing that has helped me navigate this brutal transition is carving time out to engage in my lifelong special interest: playing the piano.

I used to believe that playing piano was a distraction from what was important, like those endless tasks on my to-do list. However, as I’ve learned more about my neurodivergence, it has become an essential form of self-care.

Read more about special interests as self-care on the blog.

I wanted to share something I’ve really enjoyed these past two weeks. I love music mashups, and Tony Ann has a spectacular one of the Interstellar theme and Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, first movement. Enjoy 🎼 

A little sneak peek into my special interest.

Your turn, what is your special interest? How do you weave it into your self-care routine? Feel free to comment!

Until next time,

Izzie

Join the conversation

or to participate.